Trump Travel ban from Muslim Countries: US Supreme Court

Trump Travel ban from Muslim Countries: US Supreme Court

The United States Supreme court on Tuesday upheld a ban on Trump Travel from several mainly Muslim countries.

The immigration policy launched by the US President this year saw the separation of children (of any age group) from their immigrant parents who arrived in the United States illegally. Where children remained in the US, parents were sent to Mexico.

Another policy by the President saw the ban on the muslim visitors in the country as a part of 'AMERICA'S FIRST VISION' with a motive of making the entire nation non-muslim.

But the top court of the US saw it as a right coming and backs the President saying it is the sole responsibility of the President to take the decision for the country and by no law, it can be barred.

According to THE ECONOMIC TIMES reports, the 5-4 decision is a big victory for Trump on an issue that is central to his Presidency, and the court's first substantive ruling on a Trump administration policy.

Chief Justice John Roberts wrote that Presidents have substantial power to regulate immigration. He also rejected the challengers' claim of anti-Muslim bias.

But he was careful not to endorse either Trump's provocative statements about immigration in general or Muslims in particular, including Trump's campaign pledge to keep Muslims from entering the country.

``We express no view on the soundness of the policy,'' Roberts wrote.

In a dissent, Justice Sonia Sotomayor said, ``History will not look kindly on the court's misguided decision today, nor should it.''

Justices Stephen Breyer, Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Elena Kagan also dissented.

Sotomayor wrote that based on the evidence in the case ``a reasonable observer would conclude that the Proclamation was motivated by anti-Muslim animus.'' She said her colleagues in the majority arrived at the opposite result by ``ignoring the facts, misconstruing our legal precedent and turning a blind eye to the pain and suffering the Proclamation inflicts upon countless families and individuals, many of whom are United States citizens.''

The Trump policy applies to travellers from five countries with overwhelmingly Muslim populations - Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen. It also affects two non-Muslim countries, blocking travellers from North Korea and some Venezuelan government officials and their families. A sixth majority Muslim country, Chad, was removed from the list in April after improving ``its identity-management and information sharing practices,'' Trump said in a proclamation.

After the decision by the supreme court, Trump tweeted;

Next Story
Share it
To Top